Reading Time: 2 minutes

Kimberley, South Africa. Feb 05

Women's Cricket World Cup Final - England vs India
Indian Women’s Cricket Team to Take on South Africa in First ODI


A few months after their performance in the ICC World Cup, the Indian women’s cricket team will play against South Africa when the two sides head into the opening ODI of the three-match series at the Diamond Oval here on Monday.

The three-match series, which is the first-round fixture of the ICC Women’s Championship, will give two sides an opportunity to directly qualify for the 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup.

Kimberley will be the venue of the ODIs on February 5 and 7, while the series will finish with the final match in Potchefstroom on February 10.

India did not get to play an international game since the 2017 World Cup, where the Mithali Raj-led side made it to the finals before slumping to a nine-run defeat at Lord’s against England to lose by 9 runs.

When the two sides met in the inaugural edition of the ICC Women’s Championship in Bengaluru in November 2014, South Africa had won the series 2-1.

When the two sides met again in the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier in Sri Lanka in February 2017 after failing to finish in the top four of the ICC Women’s Championship, India beat South Africa by 49 runs in a Super Six match and then in the final by one wicket.

In the ICC Women’s World Cup match in Leicester in July 2017, South Africa were winners by 115 runs.

The two sides will also play five T20Is, which will not count towards the ICC Women’s Championship.

The matches will have an impact on the Women’s Team Rankings on which India are presently ranked fourth and South Africa at sixth.

The two teams are as follows:

India: Mithali Raj (capt.), Taniya Bhatia, Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Mona Meshram, Shikha Pandey, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Sushma Verma and Poonam Yadav.

South Africa: Dane van Niekerk (capt), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Laura Wolvaardt, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Andrie Steyn, Raisibe Ntozakhe and Zintle Mali.

With inputs from ANI


Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of