Reading Time: < 1 minute

Kohima, Nagaland

Nagaland Polls: BJP-NDPP Alliance Leading in Early Trends

As the counting of votes for Nagaland Assembly election is underway, the early trends show the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) alliance has been leading on seven seats.

Meanwhile, the Naga People’s Front (NPF) has been leading on six seats.

The counting for 59 of the 60 assembly seats in the state began at 8:00 a.m. and the results are expected by afternoon.

The key candidates in the polls are Neiphiu Rio (NDPP), Biplap Deb (BJP), TR Zeliang (NPF), Yanthungo Patton (BJP), K L Chishi (BJP) and Kewekhape Therie (INC).

Nagaland went to polls on February 27, in which 75 percent voting was recorded.

Results for the assembly elections in Tripura and Meghalaya will also be declared today.


Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of