Reading Time: 2 minutes
BSP President Wins From Kollegal Assembly Constituency, Opens Account in Karnataka

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) Karnataka President N Mahesh won from Kollegal assembly constituency in Karnataka Assembly elections. In a historic win, Mahesh defeated Congress’s AR Krishnamurthy with a margin of nearly 19,500 votes and pushed BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) to the third spot. BSP had entered into an alliance with JD(S) Janata Dal (Secular) before the polls.

Kollegal is a State Assembly/Vidhan Sabha constituency in the Chamarajnagar district and Southern Karnataka region of Karnataka and is a part of the Chamarajanagar Lok Sabha constituency. It is a seat reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates. From 1957 to 2003, the Congress won the seat ten times and the BJP just once in the 2009 bypolls. The victory is being seen as an opportunity for BSP to consolidate its position outside Uttar Pradesh.

In the Karnataka elections BJP emerged as the single largest party while JD(S) and Congress agreed to form a government to keep BJP out. JD(S) national president HD Deve Gowda’s son HD Kumaraswamy is their Chief Ministerial candidate.

While BJP won 104 seats, emerging as the single largest party, the Congress and JD(S) bagged 78 and 37 seats, respectively. Soon after, the Congress announced that it would support the JD (S), taking their total seat share to 117, thus resulting in a fractured mandate.

Allegations have surfaced that BJP offered 100 crore (1000 million) rupees and ministerial position to JD(S) candidates to buy them.

‘I got a call from the BJP leaders. They said come to us and we will give a ministry to you. We’ll make you a minister. But, I’m going to stay here. HD Kumaraswamy is our CM,’ Amaregouda Bayyapur, Congress leader said today. With this, the Karnataka government formation has become more troublesome. Both BJP and JD(S) moved their MLAs to resorts fearing luring by the other party.

B S Yediyurappa, BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate has also submitted letter to Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala for forming a government.

As the results of the poll in the state have left the assembly in hung, the final decision will be taken by the Governor, Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of