Reading Time: 2 minutes


Mike Hesson, Belinda Clark Appointed to ICC Cricket Committee

New Zealand national team coach Mike Hesson, former Australian women’s team captain Belinda Clark, and Scotland skipper Kyle Coetzer have been appointed to the International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricket Committee.

Clark has been named as the women’s cricket representative, and replaces Clare Connor (who has completed her third and final three-year term), while Coezter has replaced Ireland’s Kevin O’Brien as the Associate Members representative.

It may be noted that since Ireland is now a Full Member, O’Brien has become ineligible.

Meanwhile, Hesson has taken over from Darren Lehmann, who has become ineligible following his resignation as Australia national team coach in March in the aftermath of the massive ball-tampering scandal.

All three have been appointed to the committee for an initial three-year term each and next week’s annual meeting in Mumbai, which will take place on May 28 and May 29, will be their first meeting.

Spirit of Cricket and player behaviour, World Test Championship playing conditions and the pace of play are some of the items on the agenda for the meeting.

The ICC Cricket Committee is representative of all stakeholders in the modern game, including players, umpires, and the media.

It is empowered to make recommendations on cricket playing issues to the Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC) and, if the matter is a policy matter, the ICC Board for approval.

Former India captain Anil Kumble is the Chairman of the committee, while Andrew Strauss and Mahela Jayawardena are Past Player representatives.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of