Reading Time: 2 minutes


AIFF Declares Sunil Chhetri Player of the Year

All India Football Federation (AIFF) named men’s football team captain Sunil Chhetri as the ‘AIFF Player of the Year’ during an executive committee meeting here on Sunday.

The 33-year-old played his first match for India in the under-20 team in 2004 and went on to become the most capped player and all-time top goal scorer for the national team.

Chhetri helped India win the Nehru Cup thrice- 2007, 2009 and 2012. He also drove the team to victory in the SAFF Championship in 2011.

In women’s category, 26-year-old Kamala Devi bagged the 2017 ‘AIFF Women Player of the Year.’

Devi was a part of the Indian team that won the SAFF Championships in 2010, 2012 and 2014. She was also awarded the ‘Player of the Match’ title in the final of the SAFF tournament, 2012.

While young talent Anirudh Thapa was given the title of 2017 AIFF Emerging Player of the Year in men’s category, E Panthoi won the same award in the women’s category.

Following is the list of the awards given:

2017 AIFF Award for Best Grassroots Development Programme: Kerala FA

2017 AIFF Award for Best Assistant Referee: Sumanta Datta (Assam)

2017 AIFF Award for Best Referee: CR Srikrishna

2017 AIFF Emerging Woman Footballer of the Year: E Panthoi

2017 AIFF Emerging Player of the Year: Anirudh Thapa

2017 AIFF Woman Footballer of the Year: Kamala Devi

2017 AIFF Player of the Year: Sunil Chhetri.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of