You are here:  Home  >  India  >  Current Article

Adjournment Motion Moved in Lok Sabha Over TMC Leaders’ Detention

 Friday, August 3, 2018  |  No Comments

    Print       Email

New Delhi:

Adjournment Motion Moved in Lok Sabha Over TMC Leaders’ Detention

All India Trinamool Congress (AITMC) Member of Parliament (MP) Saugata Roy has moved an adjournment motion in the Lok Sabha over the overnight detention of the party’s eight-member delegation at Silchar airport on Thursday.

The adjournment motion was moved on the 12th day of the Monsoon Session of the Parliament.

Earlier in the day, six out of the eight-member delegation had returned to Kolkata after being stopped at the airport. The delegation had claimed that they were allegedly manhandled and physically assaulted by the authorities at the airport.

An MLA from West Bengal’s Karimpur named Mahua Moitra allegedly assaulted a lady police officer who restrained her at the aerodrome. In a video received by the ANI, the TMC leader could be seen physically assaulting the victim, even as the latter pleaded the MP with folded hands to calm down.

Not only that, the video had also showcased scores of party workers sitting on the conveyor belt at the airport to mark the protest.

The delegation, which also comprised of MPs Sukhendu Sekhar Ray, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar, Ratna De Nag, Nadimul Haque, Arpita Ghosh, Mamata Thakur and minister Firhad Hakim, was scheduled to visit Silchar on the issue of Assam’s National Register of Citizens (NRC) draft.

(Minimal edits applied, story generated from syndicated ANI feed)
    Print       Email

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You might also like...

ABVP goes frantic post-polls, Arson Violence Erupts at Allahabad University

Read More →