Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Samajwadi Party has announced their first list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections this year. The founder of the party Mulayam Singh Yadav who is currently a sitting MP from Azamgarh, will be contesting from Mainpuri, which Tej Pratap Singh Yadav won in 2014. This one is said to the safest bet for the Samajwadi Party in the state.

The party, led by Akhilesh Yadav, is contesting the Lok Sabha elections in alliance with Bahujan Samaj Party. The party patriarch had criticised his son’s move to get into an alliance with Mayawati and dividing half the seat share with them. He also stumped the party members and opposition alliance with his comment in a parliament session that he hopes current Prime Minister Narendra Modi will come back to power again.

The five other names in the list apart from Mulayam Singh Yadav are: Akshay Yadav, will be fielded from Firozabad where he is already a sitting MP, Kamlesh Katheria will be contesting from Etawah, Bhailal Kol from Robertsganj & Shabbir Valmiki contesting from Bahraich.
Dharmendra Yadav will be contesting from Badaun, which puts an end to all rumours of Congress entering into the already existing SP-BSP alliance. In the last candidates list that came out on Thursday, Congress had already announced another candidate for the same constituency.

Amethi and Raebareli, two strongholds of Congress where part chief Rahul Gandhi and AICC Chairperson Sonia Gandhi will be contesting from are left to them without any opposition from SP-BSP alliance. Leaving these two seats, NDTV reports that “Mayawati’s BSP will contest 38 seats, the Samajwadi Party will get 37 and Ajit Singh’s Rashtriya Lok Dal will get three”.

Rahul Gandhi had made clear that Congress will be contesting from all seats in Uttar Pradesh. Their first list of 11 candidates came out on Thursday 7th.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of