Reading Time: 2 minutes

Communist Party of India (Marxist) announced on 9th February, Saturday, the list of 16 candidates, including 6 sitting MP’s and 4 incumbent MLA’s for Lok Sabha elections in Kerala. The list was released by Kodiyeri Balakrishnan.

The list which has 6 sitting MP ’s, 4 incumbent MLA’s, 3 former MLA’s and 2 former MP’s has only one new face. The list has two women candidates- Veena George from Pathanamthitta and PK Sreemathi from Kannur. Veena is the incumbent MLA of Aranmula, while Sreemathi teacher is the sitting MP of Kannur.

“In 2004, the LDF won 18 seats from Kerala and the Left was the backbone of the first UPA government. Our confidence levels are pretty high this time,” said Kodiyeri Balakrishnan.

Actor Innocent, the sitting MP of Chalakkudy also made it to the list despite the internal differences in the party. In fact, all the sitting MP’s except for P Karunakaran will be contesting this election. Instead of Karunakaran, PK Satheeshan who served twice as the MLA of Kasargod will be contesting from the constituency.

MB Rajesh and PK Biju will contest for the same time from Palakkad and Alathur constituencies respectively while A Sampath would contest for a fourth time from Attingal. SFI president VP Sanu will be seen contesting his first major election from Malappuram constituency. Joys George an independent backed by CPM will be contesting from Idukki.

Apart from this, Aroor MLA A.M. Arif, Kozhikode MLA A Pradeep Kumar and PV Anvar, l MLA from Nilambur, will be candidates in Alappuzha, Kozhikkod and Ponnani respectively.

The biggest surprise in the list is P Jayarajan, a popular leader from Kannur who was implied in the political murder of T.P Chandrashekharan is contesting from Vadakara constituency. “Jayarajan is the biggest victim of violence in politics as his right hand was slashed when he was in his house by the RSS, some time back. He is only facing the trial as the case against him is going on,” said Kodiyeri, reports media.

Here is the complete list:

Chalakudy: Innocent

Vadakara: P. Jayarajan

Kottayam: V.N. Vasavan

Alappuzha: A.M. Arif

Pathanamthitta: Veena George

Attingal: A. Sampath

Idukki: Joyce George

Ernakulam: P. Rajeev

Kozhikode: A. Pradeep Kumar

Palakkad: M.B. Rajesh

Alathur: P.K. Biju

Malappuram: V.P. Sanu

Kannur: P.K. Sreemathy

Kasaragod: K.P. Satheesh Chandran

Kollam: K.N. Balagopal

Ponnani: Anwar

The state has 20 Lok Sabha seats. While CPM is contesting from 16, CPI will be contesting from 4 seats. UDF and BJP are yet to reveal their candidate list officially.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of