Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Communist Party of India (CPI) announced their candidates list for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from Kerala. CPI would be contesting from 4 seats and CPM from 16 seats, of the 20 Lok Sabha seats in Kerala. CPI is contesting from Thiruvananthapuram, Mavelikkara, Thrissur and Wayanad.

C Divakaran, a sitting MLA, will be contesting from Thiruvananthapuram constituency. He will be contesting against Shashi Tharoor, the incumbent MP of Congress. Chittiyam Gopakumar will be contesting from Mavelikkara constituency. Gopakumar currently is a sitting MLA who represents Adoor constituency in the assembly.

Rajaji Mathew Thomas, who is also the editor of Janayugom, the official party newspaper, will be contesting from Thrissur. The party had won this seat last election. CN Jayadevan, the sitting MP from Thrissur was the sole CPI representation in Lok Sabha last year.  P.P Suneer will be contesting from Wayanad constituency. He has worked as the party district secretary of Malappuram.

In Thiruvananthapuram, the left front was pushed to the third position in the 2014 elections, following a ‘paid seat’ controversy. CPI had fielded Bennet Abraham from Trivandrum constituency last elections, who had nothing to do with party or its politics. There were reports that Bennett had made generous contributions to the CPI’s campaign fund and into the pockets of a few leaders. Sadly, C. Divakaran was one of the CPI leaders who had faced a disciplinary action on this issue.

Venjaramoodu Sashi, ex-district secretary of CPI, expressed his resentment in the decision to field C. Divakaran. He said the move is an open challenge on the people of Trivandrum. Sashi had faced disciplinary action along with C Divakaran on the paid seat issue. However, with this announcement, an interesting battleground is set in Thiruvananthapuram. Congress, in all probability, is expected to field incumbent MP Shashi Tharoor.

C.N Jayadevan the incumbent CPI MP from Thrissur also had expressed his discontent with the list. He said that there should have been female representation in the list. As per reports, CPI wanted to field their senior leader Kanam Rajendran. However, as Kanam refused the party focussed on C. Divakaran. Other names that were considered were Annie Raja, G.R Anil and Binoy Vishwam.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of