Reading Time: 2 minutes
Andhra Pradesh:

Actor Pawan Kalyan led Jana Sena Party formally announced the name of four of its candidates who would be contesting the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Jana Sena Party has also come to a consensus about the other seven Lok Sabha candidates and 32 MLA candidates. The complete list of candidates is expected within two days.

Informing Jana Sena’s decision, Pawan Kalyan tweeted, “After a diligent process, the general body of our party has finalised the first list of candidates for 32 Assembly and 9 parliamentary constituencies.”

D.M.R Sekhar, who is a retired officer from ONGC will be seen contesting from Amalapuram constituency. The second candidate whose name got announced was Akula Satyanarayana, who has previously been with BJP. He will be seen contesting from Rajahmundry constituency. Satyanarayana who had been working as an MLA had quit the assembly membership and the BJP last month to join the Jana Sena.

“Sekhar has been a supporter of Jana Sena since its formation in 2014. Akula Satyanarayana is very close to our family for years. I wish both get elected to Parliament and serve people better,” Kalyan said.

Both the constituencies announced by Kalyan, are located in the East Godavari district and have been considered a stronghold of Jana Sena Party. With this announcement, Jana Sena became the first party to announce its candidate list in Andhra.

Pawan Kalyan started Jana Sena before the 2014 General Elections. The party, however, did not field any candidates last elections. Instead, they choose to support the BJP-TDP alliance that approached the elections together las time.

But as BJP denied special status to Andhra, he withdrew support for BJP and similarly, he had a fall out with TDP owing to massive corruption in the Chandra Baby Naidu government. He has now formed an alliance with CPI and CPM in the state. Pawan Kalyan with his huge fan base is expected to have a game-changing effect in Andhra politics.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of