Reading Time: 2 minutes

Congress on Monday, 11th March, announced that it would boycott the MLC polls accusing TRS of poaching four of its MLAs and a Telugu Desam Party (TDP) legislator ‘in a brazen manner by adopting all illegal means.

The issue began with 4 MLA’s of congress- Rega Kantha Rao, Atram Sakku, Chirumarti Lingaiah and Haripriya Naik- announced that they are joining with Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS). MLC election is happening to fill five vacancies in the legislative assembly.

Responding to media, Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) president N Uttam Kumar Reddy said, “KCR Ji (Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao), who assumed office after swearing in as per Constitution, violated the oath of office and admitted Telugu Desam and Congress MLAs into the TRS in a brazen manner by adopting all illegal means.”

“In protest against this, Congress is boycotting this MLC election so that Telangana people know the undemocratic, and anti-Constitutional, illegal actions being resorted to by the Chief Minister in this MLC election,” Mr Reddy added. However, he discarded the claim that P Sabita Indra Reddy, senior leader and MLA of Congress might join TRS. Telangana election commission

Responding to the allegations of Congress that TRS bought its MLA, TRS had referred to instances of public representatives joining Congress from other parties and asked if that too was a “purchase”. TRS has fielded 4 candidates leaving one seat for its ally AIMIM. In the assembly elections that happened last year, TRS had won 88 out of the total 119 seats.

Meanwhile, election commission, on Sunday, 10th March, announced the Lok Sabha election schedule in the state. All the 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana will go to polls in a single phase on April 11, which is also the first phase of Lok Sabha elections, as announced by Sunil Arora, the Chief Election Commissioner.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of