Reading Time: 2 minutes

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has announced the list of candidates for Trinamool Congress (TMC) in West Bengal, allocating 41% of the seats to women candidates. The party announced candidates for all 42 constituencies in the state.

As DNA India reports, the Chief Minister “….also announced that TMC will contest Lok Sabha elections in some seats in Odisha, Assam, Jharkhand, Bihar and the one seat in Andaman as well. Banerjee also said that her party had formed an alliance with the Binay Tamang-led faction of Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) for the Darjeeling seat, which was won by BJP last time. GJM leader Amar Singh Rai will be fielded from the Darjeeling seat, after quitting his party and joining TMC.

Names of several sitting MPs are not included in the list. There are several new faces introduced for the Lok Sabha elections, such as film celebrities like Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan. Mimi Chakraborty will be fielded from Jadavpur constituency, where Harward professor Mr.Sugato Bose was expected to contest from. Mamata reportedly said that Mr. Bose is not contesting because of not getting permission from his university. In Basirhat, where Idris Ali is the sitting MP, actress Nusrat Jahan will be contesting this time.

Few celebrities who have already won seats in 2014 elections will be re-nominated from the same constituencies. Actors Dipak Adhikari and Satabdi Roy will be re-nominated from Ghatal and Birbhum seats respectively, while footballer Prasun Banerjee will seek vote from Howrah constituency like last time. Prasun Banerjee is an Arjuna awardee and former Indian football captain.

Another actress Moon Moon Sen will be shifted to Asansol constituency to contest for TMC. She won against CPIM candidate Basudeb Acharya in Bankura constituency last time.

Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal will be conducted in seven phases, starting on coming April 11. Results will be announced by May 23.


Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of