Reading Time: 2 minutes

The front led by Communist Party of India (Marxist) announced the candidates for two Lok Sabha seats in Tripura. Jitendra Chowdhury will be seen contesting from Tripura East while Shankar Prasad Dutta will contest from Tripura West. Both the candidates are sitting MP’s. The decision was announced in a press conference held at Agartala by the Left Front convener Bijan Dhar.

Congress had already ruled out an alliance with CPM in the state. Making the announcement Dhar said, “Dalits, farmers and tribal people were worst hit during the last five years of NDA government’s rule. Unemployment is increasing severely and farmer suicides are on the roll. There were numerous scams committed in the NDA regime. This government has to go and an alternative government should replace it.”

CPI-M state Secretary Gautam Das said, “we are contesting the Lok Sabha polls to defeat the BJP and form a secular democratic government at the Centre.”

Chowdhury is the National Convenor of the left organisation Adivasi Adhikar Rashtriya Manch and is also serving as the President of Communist Party of India-Marxist’s tribal wing, the Tripura Rajya Upajati Ganamukti Parishad. Datta is the state General Secretary of the Centre of Indian Trade Unions.

“I am grateful that the party has once again put faith in me. This time it would be a historic election when the whole country is working to defeat the authority of BJP and misrule lead by Narendra Modi. The people of Tripura is very well aware of the national situation. The people of Tripura were cheated by BJP and IPFT in the last state election, ”Jitendra Choudhary responded to ANI.

The state is expected to witness a tough 3 cornered competition between the three fronts led by- CPM, Congress and BJP. However, both Congress and BJP are facing challenges from their allies INPT and IPFT who have decided to field their own candidates for Lok Sabha elections.

While IPFT has already announced their candidates, BJP and Congress are expected to release their list within a few days. Polling for Tripura West will be held in the first phase on Aprill 11 and Tripura East in the second phase on April 18. Votes will be counted on May 23.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of