Reading Time: < 1 minute

Bharat Dharma Jana Sena(BDJS), an ally of BJP, is likely to contest in 5 seats under BJP banner in Kerala. As reports suggest, BDJS state President, Thushar Vellappally is likely to contest from Thrissur seat. Tushar was willing to contest the seat as his father Vellapally Nateshan, gave a favourable nod to his candidature. An official announcement is expected once the BJP candidate list is ready.

Other than Thrissur, BDJS will be seen contesting from Wayanad, Idukki, Alathur and Mavelikkara constituencies. According to the reports, Biju Krishnan would contest from Idukki and Thazhava Sahadevan from Mavelikkara. T.V. Babu will be contesting in Alathur while Anto Augustin is expected to contest from Wayanad.

Left has fielded Rajaji Mathew in Thrissur seat while T.N Prathapan will be contesting for Congress. BJP also has given one seat to P.C Thomas who will mostly be seen contesting from Kottayam. Of the 20 seats, BJP will be fielding candidates in 14 seats.

However, Vellapilly implied that Thushar will have to resign from SNDP. “If Thushar is about to contest, he should resign his position from SNDP Yogam. That’s the proper way”, Vellappally said.

Vellappally Natesan, who is known for his easily fluctuating stands, has been supporting the left government all throughout Sabarimala issue. On the contrary, Thushar has been an active part of the BJP protests against the verdict.

Though BDJS has confirmed their list, NDA is still hasn’t finalised their final list. The party is also trying to rope in Prayar Goapalakrishnan, former Devaswom Board president, for Pathanamthitta seat. The list of other candidates contesting for BJP is expected to be announced soon.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of