Reading Time: 2 minutes
Uttar Pradesh:

Former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati announced on Wednesday that she won’t be contesting from any seats for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

“I know I can win from any seat. All that I have to do is to file my nomination and my party workers will take care of the rest. We have a strong alliance with RLD and SP to defeat BJP. It is more important for us to win more seats than for me to win one. I had earlier resigned from Rajya Sabha to keep our movement alive, but keeping in mind the current political situation, I have decided not to contest the Lok Sabha elections,” she announced in a press meeting held at Lucknow.
The BSP-SP alliance in Uttar Pradesh will give the biggest challenge for the current Yogi government in UP in the coming elections. Forgetting the many decades-long rivalries, Mayawati has joined hands with Samajwadi Party this time. Even though she is not contesting, she will be campaigning for her contestants from both parties. She will also be campaigning for Mulayam Singh Yadav, who is considered as her arch-rival for many years now.
The BSP-SP alliance has settled on a 50-50 seat-sharing deal in Uttar Pradesh. Out of the total 80, Sp and BSP will contest from 38 seats each and have left two seats for the RLD. The alliance has decided that they will not field candidates form Amethi and Raebareli where Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and Party chairperson Sonia Gandhi will be contesting from respectively.
Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav and Jana Sena leader Pawan Kalyan had earlier expressed hope that Mayawati will hold the office of Prime Minister of India after the Lok Sabha polls.
Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh are scheduled from April 11th to May 19th in seven phases. Results will be announced by May 23rd.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of