Reading Time: < 1 minute


Sikkim Sangram Parishad, Sikkim National Peoples Party, Sikkim Rajya Manchi and Sikkim United Front concluded the discussions on 14th March in Gangtok to contest the upcoming Legislative and Loksabha elections as Sikkim Progressive Alliance.

The meeting was chaired by Sikkim Sangram Parishad president and former Lok Sabha MP, Dil Kumari Bhandari, was attended by leaders and representatives from all the four parties. The meeting elected SRM president and Rangang-Yangang MLA, Rup Narayan Chamling as convener, SSP president, D K Bhandari as the chief advisor and SNPP president Delay Namgyal Barfungpa and SUF president Narendra Adhikari as advisors of SPA.SSP general secretary, D B Basnet has been appointed as SPA spokesperson. It is informed that the SPA would soon announce the list of candidates for the elections.

Sikkim has 32 legislative assembly seats and one seat in loksabha. Currently, the state government and Losabha seat are held by Sikkim Democtaic front an ally with NDA through the NEDA- North-East Democratic alliance.

Sikkim Democratic Front is holding the Loksabha seat of Sikkim from 1996 which they then gained from Sikkim Sangram Parishad. In 2014 Loksabha elections, Prem Das Rai of Sikkim Democratic Front defeated Tek Nath Dhakal from Sikkim Krantikari Morcha by a majority.

The legislative assembly is currently governed by Mr. Pawan Kumar Chamling who is also the longest serving chief minister in the country, He was elected into the post in 1994 and he has retained it for five consecutive terms making him the second person to do that after Jyothi Basu from West Bengal.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of