Reading Time: < 1 minute


The slim majority of votes garnered by the BJP in the floor test favouring the state assembly leaves the government on a shaky terrain. But such political uncertainty is nothing but a long standing tradition of Goan politics.

During the floor test, BJP had gained the support of 20 legislators in the 36-member Goa assembly which effectively was 40. The number came down following the death of former Chief Minister of Goa Manohar Parrikar and former deputy chief minister Francis D’Souza, and the resignation by two others.

In 32 years since the formation of the state in 1987, Goa had been ruled by at least 20 chief ministers. The tenure of some chief ministers does explain the political volatility of Goa better.

Ravi S. Naik from the Congress party spent the shortest period as the Chief ministers of Goa. He ruled only for 6 days, from April 2 to April 8 in 1994. Naik’s first term as chief minister was also short-lived—an incomplete term of 844 days.

Churchill Alemao of the Progressive Democratic Front was also met with a similar fate as that of Naik. His term as Chief minister was as short as 18 days. This was in the year 1990.

Pratapsingh Rane of the Congress served only 29 days as the chief minister from Feb 3 to March 4 in the year 2005.

The last chief minister of Goa, Manohar Parrikar, served three incomplete terms. He was succumbed to his illness during his third tenure as chief minister.

Goa has witnessed only a single chief minister who completed the five-year tenure who was Digambar Kamat from the Congress party who ruled from 2007 to 2012. But he lost in the 2014 assembly elections where BJP was ascended to power.



Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of