Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Communist Party of India (CPI) formally announced that student leader and former JNUSU President Kanhaiya Kumar will be contesting from Begusarai constituency in Bihar in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Kanhaiya’s candidature was announced by CPI state secretary Satyanarayan Singh.

CPI was left out of the grand alliance made by RJD, Congress and other regional parties. RJD is expected to field Tanweer Hasan who contested the 2014 elections from the same constituency, however, couldn’t succeed. While the BJP had decided to go with former union minister Giriraj Singh.

“We have already announced the name of Kanhaiya Kumar as our nominee from Begusarai. Today, the party’s central secretariat gave its nod and formally announced Kumar’s candidature from Begusarai. We have no doubt that he will become an MP,” CPI national secretary K Narayana said.

“We will support the candidates of the Grand Alliance in order to ensure the defeat of the NDA in the state on seats where the Left will not field its nominees. Kanhaiya Kumar has become the symbol of the fight against the Narendra Modi government in the past three years. We will ensure his victory,” he added.

Kanhaiya referred to Giriraj Singh as a “visa minister”, and added, “I am fighting against Giriraj Singh and his fundamentalist thinking.” Giriraj Singh is considered an influential Bhumiyar leader in Bihar.

RJD candidate Hasan however in a recent interview said that the real fight is between him and Giriraj Singh. “Anyone who understands politics should have no problems in understanding that contest is between me and Giriraj now and I am sure of defeating the BJP leader by a huge margin,” he said.

Kanhaiya Kumar came to the limelight with the sedition controversy of 2016 at JNU. He along with 9 other students were falsely charged with sedition by Delhi police for raising anti-Indian slogans.



Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of