Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Barath Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS), an ally of NDA in Kerala, announced its three candidates out of the five seats given, at Cherthala. Meanwhile, they are yet to declare candidates in Wayanad and Thrissur. Various media reports suggest that BDJS leader Thushar Vellappally is likely to contest in one of these seats. However, there is no official confirmation yet.

BDJS has fielded T.V. Babu, Thazhava Sahadevan and Biju Krishnan in Alathur, Mavelikkara and Idukki constituencies respectively. The five seats promised to BDJS were Alathur, Mavelikkara, Idukki and Thrissur, and Wayanad. Speculations regarding Rahul’s candidature in Wayanad, are making things complicated for BJP and its ally BDJS.

But, if Rahul confirms his candidature in Wayanad, it is highly likely that BJP might take over the Wayanad seat. “We have already discussed the case with BDJS. If it becomes a necessity, we will field an appropriate candidate from Wayanad”, said BJP state president P.S. Sreedharan Pillai on Tuesday.

BDJS was initially unwilling to give back the already allotted seat. “No NDA leader has asked to vacate the seat if Rahul contests. Hope they don’t make such a demand”, Thushar said on Monday. However, after having discussions with Sreedharan Pillai, he seems to succumb to BJP’s demand.

“I will contest from where the party orders. BDJS council will take a call on this. I will contest only to win. The decision on Wayanad will be taken after discussions,” Thushar Vellappally said at Cherthala.

“SNDP Yogam general secretary Vellappally Natesan stated that I will lose the election. He said his opinion. There is no need to mix BDJS with SNDP. BDJS is a secular party,” Thushar added. He also stated that he is confident to contest against Rahul Gandhi in Wayanad.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of