Reading Time: 2 minutes
Uttar Pradesh

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra’s entry into active politics was undoubtedly a major news during the 17th Lok Sabha election campaign. If the rumor of her contesting from Varanasi seat, where current Prime Minister Narendra Modi is also contesting from turns out true, the whole picture of political drama will be complete.

Priyanka Gandhi’s candidature is much anticipated amongst political enthusiasts since she joined active politics and started campaigning for her brother and Congress Party chief Rahul Gandhi.

Priyanka had recently made her political debut by taking over as the All India Congress Committee general secretary in charge of Uttar Pradesh east section. The Week reports that Priyanka has agreed to contest from Modi’s constituency, Varanasi, and the final decision will be taken by the High Command. Congress chief Rahul Gandhi had reportedly said that it could be considered if Priyanka agrees.

Meanwhile BJP asserted that they are not bothered by these rumors. BJP leader and former Union Minister Shahnawaz Hussain told reporters in New Delhi that “Congress has a habit of creating confusion. When the BJP goes for an electoral contest, we do not bother much about who is going to contest against us”. He confidently asserted that “Our Prime Minister is contesting from ‘Kashi (Varanasi)’ yet again and the victory margin will be larger than the previous time”.

In 2015 general elections, Modi won against Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal by a margin of 3,71,884 votes.

As reported earlier, Congress party workers had urged Priyanka Gandhi to contest from Rae Bareli seat which is the home turf of her mother and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi. During this exchange, she apparently responded in a lighter vein that ‘why not Varanasi!’.

Uttar Pradesh will go to polls in seven phases, from April 11 to May 19, and election for Varanasi constituency will be on May 19th. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of