Reading Time: 1 minute
New Delhi:

Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), on Monday, announced the names of six candidates for Delhi Lok Sabha seats, fielding former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit from North-East Delhi, Ajay Maken from New Delhi and J.P. Agarwal from Chandni Chowk. Others in the fray include Arvinder Singh Lovely from East Delhi seat, Rajesh Lilothia from the reserved constituency of North West Delhi and veteran party leader Mahabal Mishra from West Delhi seat. The party is yet to finalise a candidate for the South Delhi seat.

The Congress’ announcement of candidates came after talks of alliance with AAP which were failed as the former wanted a tie-up only in Delhi while the latter wanted alliance in Haryana as well. Meanwhile, senior AAP leader Gopal Rai accused the Congress of wasting its time over an alliance in Delhi, Haryana and Chandigarh.

Rai also announced the names of three candidates who will be contesting from Haryana. “Naveen Jaihind, Haryana state party in-charge, would be contesting from Faridabad. Krishna Kumar Agarwal, an advocate, would contest from Karnal while Prithviraj, a former IPS officer and ex-DGP of Haryana would contest on AAP ticket from Ambala,” he told media. He also added that Delhi Chief Minister and AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal would participate in two mega roadshows in Haryana.

The AAP has seven candidates in the national capital and party’s west Delhi candidate Balbir Singh Jakhar has filed his nomination papers on Thursday. The other six candidates will file their nominations on Monday.

At the same time, BJP, on Sunday evening, had announced the names of four sitting members of Parliament (MP) in its first list of candidates for the capital. This included union minister Harshvardhan in Chandni Chowk, Manoj Tiwari in North East Delhi, Parvesh Verma in West Delhi and Ramesh Bidhuri in South Delhi.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of