Reading Time: < 1 minute
New Delhi:

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has ordered repolling in 34 booths in 10 districts of Odisha, which recently hit by cyclone Fani, on May 19. Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar, on Tuesday, informed the media that the collectors of the districts had been informed about the repolling schedule.

The fresh polls will be held in different assembly segments in the districts of Cuttack, Deogarh, Puri, Angul, Keonjhar, Khurda, Jajpur, Balasore, Mayurbhanj and Jagatsinghpur, CEO said. Out of the 34 booths, polling was held at 12 booths in the third phase of elections and 22 booths in the fourth phase.

Meanwhile, fresh polling in three booths, two in Brahmagiri and one in Satyabadi assembly segments of Puri district is a challenge as there has been no power due to cyclone Fani. Both Brahmagiri and Satyabadi have been worst hit blocks of Puri district. These areas are yet to get electricity and other basic facilities, official sources said.

Earlier, the Election Commission of India had ordered repolling in nine booths following the recommendation of the CEO. Election to these booths could not be held during the second phase of election in Odisha on April 18 last due to the wrong connection of EVM with VVPAT machines and other reasons.

Due to the devastation caused by cyclone Fani, the Election Commission has already extended the completion of Patkura Assembly polls by 60 days.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of