Reading Time: < 1 minute

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi is surging ahead in Varanasi Lok Sabha seat with a lead of more than 20,000 votes. He is followed by SP’s Shalini Yadav who has over 11,000 votes. Prime Minister Modi is widely expected to retain his seat in Varanasi. In 2014, Modi secured over five lakh votes, defeating Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Arvind Kejriwal by more than three lakh votes, and receiving 56.40% of the votes.

Modi’s constituency went for polls in the last phase of Lok Sabha election 2019 on May 19. A total of 25 contestants fought elections against the PM from Kashi. These candidates belong to various states including Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Uttarakhand, Kerala, Chhattisgarh, and Maharashtra. In 2014, PM Modi had 41 candidates contesting the poll against him but the number this time has gone down to 25.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of