Reading Time: < 1 minute

New Delhi:

Trinamool Congress (TMC) chief and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi on May 30 in New Delhi. Mamata said that it is her constitutional duty to attend the ceremony. She will be returning to Kolkata on May 31.

“I have spoken to a couple of other chief ministers and have decided to attend it. There are certain ceremonial programmes under the Constitution. We try to attend such events when we get an invitation for the swearing-in programmes of the president and the prime minister,” she said.

The invites for the event were sent to all chief ministers, including Mamata Banerjee. Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal and Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao has also confirmed their presence at the swearing-in ceremony.

Foreign leaders like Bangladesh President Abdul Hamid, Sri Lanka President Maithripala Sirisena, Kyrgyzstan President Sooronbay Jeenbekov, Myanmar President U Win Myint, Mauritius PM Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Nepal PM KP Sharma Oli, Bhutan PM Lotay Tshering, and special envoy of Thailand Grisada Boonrach have confirmed their participation in the ceremony.

President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of the Union Council of Ministers at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday at 7 pm.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of