Reading Time: < 1 minute


The new cabinet which had sworn in has 6 women candidates. The three women ministers conferred Cabinet rank are Nirmala Sitharaman, Smriti Zubi Iran and Harsimrat Kaur. While three more women were conferred with the position of Miniter of State.

Nirmala Sitharaman has been given the position of Minister of Finance and Minister of Corporate Affairs; Smriti Zubin Irani is appointed as Minister of Women and Child Development; Minister of Textiles; while Harsimrat Kaur Badal is given the position of Minister of Food Processing Industries.

The three women who were appointed as Minister of State are- Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Renuka Singh Saruta, and Debasree Choudhari.

Sushma Swaraj, who was in charge of external affairs; former woman and child minister Maneka Gandhi and Uma Bharathi who was in charge of Ministry of drinking water and sanitation couldn’t make it to the new cabinet.

Sushma Swaraj and Uma Bharti had earlier announced that they won’t be seeking re-election to Lok Sabha.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of