Ajay Kumar Bhalla, new Home Secretary of India, Screengrab, (Courtesy: Scroll.in)
Reading Time: < 1 minute

A 1984 batch IAS officer and currently Secretary, Ministry of Power, Ajay Kumar Bhalla has been appointed Officer on Special Duty (OSD) to the Ministry of Home Affairs with immediate effect. He will take over as Home Secretary from incumbent Rajive Gauba, reported The Hindu.

Mr. Bhalla will be in his position till August 2021.

In another significant change, Subhash Chandra Garg, Secretary, Economic Affairs, and designated as Secretary, Finance, in the Ministry of Finance, has been shifted to the Power Ministry as Secretary, while Gujarat cadre IAS officer Atanu Chakraborty has been made new Economic Affairs Secretary, The Hindu reported.

Mr. Chakraborty is currently Secretary, Disinvestment, in the Government of India. He has been replaced by a Himachal Pradesh cadre IAS officer of 1986 batch Anil Kumar Khachi, reported The Hindu.

Anshu Prakash has been appointed new Secretary, Telecommunications, in place of Aruna Sundararajan, who is superannuating on July 31, The Hindu reported.

Another Gujarat cadre IAS officer P.D. Waghela has been made Secretary, Pharmaceuticals, while his batchmate and currently chief of the Airports Authority of India Guruprasad Mohapatra has been made Secretary, Department of Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade, in the Ministry of Commerce, reported The Hindu.

Ravi Capoor is new Textiles Secretary and Atul Chaturvedi will be the new Animal Husbandry and Dairying Secretary. R.S. Shukla is new Secretary, Parliamentary Affairs, and G.V. Venugopal Sarma will be Member-Secretary in the National Disaster Management Authority. Mr. Shukla is currently serving in his cadre in West Bengal, reported The Hindu.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of