'Permanent Record' memoir written by Edward Snowden, Former National Security Agency contractor ( Courtesy: AP News)
Reading Time: < 1 minute
New York:

The memoir of Edward Snowden, the man whose leaked classified documents and transformed the debate about government surveillance will be published on September 17. The book is titled “Permanent Records.”

Metropolitan Books, an imprint of Macmillan Publishers, announced Thursday that Snowden’s “Permanent Record” will be released simultaneously in more than 20 countries, including the U.S., Germany and Britain.

According to Metropolitan, “Snowden will describe his role in the accumulation of metadata and the “crisis of conscience” that led him to steal a trove of files in 2013 and share them with reporters. Metropolitan spokeswoman Pat Eisemann declined to offer additional details”

“The book will be released on Constitution Day. Just completed an international conspiracy across 20 countries, and somehow the secret never leaked.” Snowden tweeted.

“Edward Snowden decided at the age of 29 to give up his entire future for the good of his country. He displayed enormous courage in doing so, and like him or not, his is an incredible American story. There is no doubt that the world is a better and more private place for his actions. Macmillan is enormously proud to publish ‘Permanent Record.’,” said John Sargent, CEO of Macmillan, in a statement.

Snowden’s story was told in part in the Oscar-winning documentary “Citizenfour” and in the Oliver Stone movie “Snowden.”

In 2014, Metropolitan published “No Place to Hide: Edward Snowden, the NSA, and the U.S. Surveillance State,” by Pulitzer Prize winner Glenn Greenwald, whose reporting for the Guardian helped break the Snowden story.

Greenwald also was featured in “Citizenfour,” reported AP News.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of