Representative image of Election ( Screen grab courtesy: Money Control)
Reading Time: < 1 minute
New Delhi:

The Election Commission of India (ECI) by-election dates to one Assembly seat each in Uttar Pradesh, Tripura, Chhattisgarh, and Kerala.

The bypolls for Dantewada (Chhattisgarh), Pala (Kerala), Badharghat (Tripura) and Hamirpur (Uttar Pradesh) Assembly seats will be held on September 23.

The bypoll in Hamirpur was necessitated because of the disqualification of BJP MLA Ashok Chandel. Following the death of the sitting MLAs, Dantewada, Pala, and Badharghat bypolls were necessitated.

After the recent death of Kerala Congress(M) chief KM Mani, who held the Pala assembly seat for more than 50 years, the party was split between Mani’s son Jose K Mani and a splinter faction led by senior leader PJ Joseph. Both groups have accused each other of a hostile takeover of the party, reported Live Mint.

“The bypoll nomination process will begin from 28 August and will be held until 4 September. Votes will be counted on 24 September. With the announcement of the poll date, the Model Code of Conduct has come into effect in respective constituencies,” the EC said.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of