Sonia Gandhi, Congress President (screen grab courtesy: India Today)
Reading Time: < 1 minute

New Delhi:

The Congress on Friday announced the names of five more candidates for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly by-elections.

Party General Secretary Mukul Wasnik, in a release, said that interim President Sonia Gandhi has approved the candidature of Umesh Kumar Diwakar from Iglas (SC), Sneh Lata from Tundla (SC), Karishma Thakur from Govindnagar, Sunil Mishra from Jalalpur and Rajmangal Yadav from Ghosi assembly seats.

The Congress has now announced the names of 10 candidates for the by-polls in the state. On September 3, Gandhi has approved the names of five candidates for the by-polls necessitated after the sitting BJP MLAs won in the recently-concluded Lok Sabha elections.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of