Screen-grab, Copyrights:News 18. com
Reading Time: < 1 minute

By-election voting for Hamirpur Assembly segment seat began on Monday amid tight security.

According to the district returning officer Abhishek Prakash, polling began at 7 a.m. and will continue till 5 p.m.

The by-election was necessitated after the disqualification of BJP MLA Ashok Singh Chandel, who was convicted in a murder case in May.

There are 257 polling stations and four zonal magistrates, 36 sector magistrates and 10 static magistrates deployed to ensure free and fair polls, Prakash said.

A total of 4,01,497 electorate will exercise their franchise and 572 EVMs, along with 619 VVPAT machines set up for the purpose.

BJP has fielded Yuvraj Singh, BSP Naushad Ali, Congress Hardeep Nishad and Samajwadi Party Manoj Prajapati. The CPI candidate is Jamal Alam Mansori. There are four Independent candidates in the fray, as well.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of