Reading Time: 2 minutes

Karnataka has allowed inter-state road travel for the stranded people, including migrant workers, pilgrims, tourists and students, to other states across its borders and vice-versa, an official said on Thursday.

“As per the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) order to allow inter-state road travel for people stranded due to the lockdown, a procedure has been drawn for entering Karnataka from other states to ensure their health, safety and welfare in transit,” state disaster management head T.K. Anil Kumar said in a statement here.

People who are stranded in other parts of the country and want to return to Karnataka should register with the state government’s portal, Seva Sindu, and select the service ‘Travel to Karnataka from other states’ on its web site, fill the details of the destination district with family information.

The deputy commissioner (DC) of the destination district and the state’s nodal officer will then review the application for approval. The applicant will be given an acknowledgement with a reference number.

“The applicant will get a message (SMS) on his/her mobile with the link to download an e-pass, which will be valid for a week,” said Kumar in the statement.

The state authorities will verify the authenticity of the e-pass by scanning the QR code from the service plus application that can be downloaded on to their mobile from Google Play store.

“The applicant with the e-pass can travel by personal or hired vehicle or bus, which should be sanitised properly and have enough space for social distancing,” Kumar asserted.

As per the norms, only 3 persons in a car, 5 in a multi-utility vehicle, 10 in a van and 25 in a bus will be permitted to travel.

The e-pass will indicate the entry check-post and entry into the state will not be allowed through any other check-post.

“Persons have to undergo medical screening for symptoms of Covid-19 at the entry check-posts. Only those without symptoms will be allowed to enter and have to undergo institutional quarantined,” Kumar added.

Those with virus symptoms will be sent to COVID Care Centres or hospitals.

The citizens have to install the Aarogya Setu app on their phones. In case of any issue during the travel, they can contact the helpline number — 080-22636800.

The same procedure applies to those who want to travel from Karnataka to other states.

The check-posts are being set up in 18 districts across the southern state at Ballari, Belagavi, Bengaluru, Bidar, Chamarajanagara, Chickabalapura, Chitradurga, Dakshina Kannada, Kalaburagi, Kodagu, Kolar, Mysuru, Raichur, Ramanagara, Tumakuru, Uttar Kannada, Vijayapura and Yadgir.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of